The new European Commission 2019-2024 (December 2019)

Thought Leadership Pieces

The European Parliament confirmed the new class of European Commissioners with 461 votes in favour, 157 against and 89 abstentions on 27 November 2019. The new President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, and her team of European Commissioners took office on 1 December 2019 and will drive the EU’s agenda for the next five years. Ms von der Leyen, the former German defence minister, says that it will be a “geopolitical Commission,” signalling an intention to position Europe as a heavyweight on the world stage.

Here Clifford Chance experts, including Of Counsel Michel Petite who worked for EU institutions for 27 years and was legal adviser to three Commission Presidents, assess the priorities for the von der Leyen Commission.


Share this on LinkedIn Share this on Twitter Share this on Google Plus Email a link to this page to a colleague